Home > Q&A > How is Contrast Mind formed

How is Contrast Mind formed


Q&A with Sirshree

Contrast Mind

Contrast Mind

Seeker: How is Contrast Mind formed in the first place?

Sirshree: The first thought that arises within us when we wake up in the morning is the ‘I thought’. There are variations to the ‘I thought’, viz.

  • I woke
  • I arose
  • Now what is the first thing that I should do?
  • My eyes are a bit heavy today
  • Is it time for me to wake up?

Maybe the words could be different – but all of them are only those pertaining to I. With the advent of the ‘I thought’ – other thoughts start to follow. By then, the senses are awake too. It is only after the ‘I thought’ that the contrast mind forms which then judges everything as good or bad; ‘this was good’ or ‘this was bad’. This mind assumes a separate identity for itself – My work, My name, My actions, My religion, My nation, My sins, My pious deeds…

It compares and contrasts every event, every thought. It is precisely this that is unhappiness. It is precisely this that is bondage. It is this that is ignorance. It is this that is illusion. It is this that is the obstacle to attain truth. It is this that is the black cloud shrouding the sun (Self). It is this that is an eclipse. It is this that is the speck that has got into your eye and now won’t allow you to even see something as obvious as a mountain.

Also read:

  1. Thoughts and Self Enquiry
  2. Look who’s fooling you
  3. Tejam: Bright Witnessing
  4. Is the Truth bitter or sweet
  1. victor
    May 7, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    good simple and direct .thank you.

  2. mmohsin222
    November 17, 2012 at 3:53 am

    Very helpful meaning of “Contrast Mind” — easy to understand. Thank you Sirshree !

  1. June 16, 2012 at 10:34 am
  2. July 2, 2012 at 10:39 pm
  3. September 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm
  4. February 1, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

